Legal Property

* * * * * * * * * * * * * This blog is the intellectual property of Anne Baxter Campbell, and any quotation of part or all of it without her approval is illegal. * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Tuesday, July 17, 2012

This Is My Story - Carol Awards, 2012

Every year, the American Christian Fiction Writers holds several contests. The Carol Awards are given out for the best debut novel (a writer's first novel (in any genre) published by a traditional house), and several other awards are given out in various genres for authors who have been published previously.
Why does this list deserve a place on this day's blog? Because every story has a story behind it. Over the next year, I promise to review each of the books that takes first place and let you know the story behind the story.

These are the finalists:

Debut Novel:

Fairer Than Morning, by Rosslyn Elliott (Thomas Nelson – Ami McConnell, Editor)

The Loom, by Shella Gillus (Guideposts – Beth Adams, Editor)

Give the Lady a Ride, by Linda W. Yezak (Sky Sail [Port Yonder Press] – Chila Woychik, Editor)

Long Contemporary:

Lost Melody, by Lori Copeland/Virginia Smith (Zondervan – Sue Brower, Editor)

The Search, by Suzanne Woods Fisher (Revell – Andrea Doering, Editor)

Larkspur Cove, by Lisa Wingate (Bethany House Publishers – Sarah Long/Dave Long, Editors)

Long Contemporary Romance:

Save the Date, by Jenny B. Jones (Thomas Nelson – Jamie Chavez/Natalie Hanemann, Editors)

Lilly's Wedding Quilt, by Kelly M. Long (Thomas Nelson – Natalie Hanemann, Editor)

My Foolish Heart, by Susan May Warren (Tyndale – Karen Watson, Editor)

Long Historical:

Captive Trail, by Susan Page Davis (Moody Publishers/River North – Deborah Keiser, Editor)

Fairer Than Morning, by Rosslyn Elliott (Thomas Nelson – Ami McConnell, Editor)

Mine Is the Night, by Liz Curtis Higgs (WaterBrook Press – Laura Barker, Editor)

Long Historical Romance:

The Maid of Fairbourne Hall, by Julie Klassen (Bethany House Publishers – Karen Schurrer, Editor)

Lilies in Moonlight, by Allison Pittman (Multnomah Publishers – Alice Crider, Editor)

To Win Her Heart, by Karen Witemeyer (Bethany House Publishers – Karen Schurrer, Editor)


Falling to Pieces: A Shipshewana Amish Mystery, by Vannetta Chapman (Zondervan – Sue Brower, Editor)

Died in the Wool, by Elizabeth Ludwig/Janelle Mowery (Barbour Publishing – Rebecca Germany, Editor)

Yesterday's Secrets, by Kelly Ann Riley (Guideposts – Beth Adams, Editor)


An Accidental Christmas, from A Biltmore Christmas, by Diane T. Ashley/Aaron McCarver (Barbour Publishing – Rebecca Germany, Editor)

Reese: All Along ,from Smitten, by Denise Hunter (Thomas Nelson – Ami McConnell/LR Norton, Editors)

A Star in the Night, from A Log Cabin Christmas, by Liz Johnson (Barbour Publishing – Rebecca Germany, Editor)

Romantic Suspense:

Lonestar Angel. by Colleen Coble (Thomas Nelson – Ami McConnell, Editor)

Deadly Pursuit, by Irene Hannon (Revell – Jennifer Leep, Editor)

Wolfsbane by Ronie Kendig (Barbour Publishing – Rebecca Germany/Julee Schwarzburg, Editor)

Short Contemporary:

The Protector, by Shelley Shepard Gray (Avon Inspire/Harper Collins – Cindy DiTiberio)

Lakeside Reunion, by Lisa Jordan (Love Inspired – Melissa Endlich, Editor)

Oklahoma Reunion, by Tina Radcliffe (Love Inspired – Melissa Endlich, Editor)

Short Contemporary Suspense:

Double Identity, by Diane Burke (Love Inspired Suspense – Sarah McDaniel-Dyer, Editor)

Nightwatch, by Valerie Hansen (Love Inspired Suspense – Melissa Endlich, Editor)

A Deadly Game, by Virginia Smith (Love Inspired Suspense – Tina James, Editor)

Short Historical (four finalists due to a tie):

Promise of Time, by S. Dionne Moore (Heartsong Presents – JoAnne Simmons, Editor)

Revealing Fire, by Connie Stevens (Heartsong Presents – Rebecca Germany, Editor)

Light to My Path, by Erica Vetsch (Heartsong Presents – JoAnne Simmons, Editor)

The Deepest Waters, by Dan Walsh (Revell – Andrea Doering, Editor)

Speculative Fiction:

The Story in the Stars, by Yvonne Anderson (Risen Books – Reagan Reed, Editor)

The Chair, by James L. Rubart (B&H Fiction – Julee Schwarzburg, Editor)

Broken Sight, by Steve Rzasa (Marcher Lord Press – Jeff Gerke, Editor)


Over the Edge, by Brandilyn Collins (B&H Fiction – Karen Ball, Editor)

Fallen Angel, by Major Jeff Struecker/Alton Gansky (B & H Fiction – Julie Gwinn, Editor)

Freedom's Stand, by Jeanette (J.M.) Windle (Tyndale – Jan Stob, Editor)

Women’s Fiction:

A Sound Among the Trees, by Susan Meissner (WaterBrook Press – Shannon Marchese, Editor)

When Sparrows Fall, by Meg Moseley (Multnomah Publishers – Jessica Barnes/Shannon Marchese, Editors)

Dandelion Summer, by Lisa Wingate (Penguin Praise/Berkley – Ellen Edwards, Editor)

Young Adult:

Wreath, by Judy Christie (Barbour Publishing – Rebecca Germany/Jamie Chavez, Editors)

The Merchant's Daughter, by Melanie Dickerson (Zondervan – Jacque Alberta, Editor)

There You'll Find Me, by Jenny B. Jones (Thomas Nelson – Natalie Hanemann/Becky Monds/Jamie Chavez, Editors)

Congratulations to all these talented authors, and may God guide the outcome! We will know the outcome at the ACFW Conference in Dallas in September ~ Anne
Post a Comment